Awards & Honors

Mary Carrington

Mary N. Carrington, Ph.D.,

was elected to the 2021 American Academy of Microbiology class of fellows.

Sheue-yann Cheng

Sheue-yann Cheng, Ph.D.,

received the 2021 Valerie Anne Galton Distinguished Lectureship Award from the American Thyroid Association.

William Douglas Figg Sr.

William Douglas Figg Sr., Pharm.D.,

received the 2021 American College of Clinical Pharmacology Distinguished Investigator Award.

Curtis Harris

Curtis C. Harris, M.D.,

was elected to the 2021 class of fellows of the American Association for Cancer Research Academy.

Wei-Shau Hu

Wei-Shau Hu, Ph.D.,

was elected to the 2021 American Academy of Microbiology class of fellows and received the 2021 Distinguished Research Career Award from The Ohio State University Center for Retrovirus Research.

Elaine Jaffe

Elaine S. Jaffe, M.D.,

received the 2022 American Society for Investigative Pathology Gold-Headed Cane Award.

Douglas Lowy

Douglas R. Lowy, M.D.,

received the 2021 American Association for Cancer Research-Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research.

Jordan Meier

Jordan L. Meier, Ph.D.,

received the 2020 International Chemical Biology Society Young Chemical Biologist Award.

Andre Nussenzweig

André Nussenzweig, Ph.D.,

received the 2021 Basser Global Prize.

Ruth Nussinov

Ruth Nussinov, Ph.D.,

was elected to the 2021 class of fellows of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering.

Vinay Pathak

Vinay K. Pathak, Ph.D.,

received the 2020 Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences Cozzarelli Prize in Biomedical Science.

Peter Pinto

Peter A. Pinto, M.D.,

was elected to the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons and received the 2021 American Urological Association Distinguished Contribution Award.

Nitin Roper

Nitin Roper, M.D., M.Sc.,

received the 2021 Forbeck Foundation Scholar Award.

Steven Rosenberg

Steven A. Rosenberg, M.D., Ph.D.,

received the 2021 Dan David Prize and the Health and Human Services Secretary’s Award for Distinguished Service.

Eytan Ruppin

Eytan Ruppin, M.D., Ph.D.,

was elected to the 2021 International Society for Computational Biology class of fellows.

Vassiliki Saloura

Vassiliki Saloura, M.D., Ph.D.,

received the 2021 Career Development Award from Conquer Cancer, the American Society of Clinical Oncology Foundation.

Joel Schneider

Joel P. Schneider, Ph.D.,

received the 2021 American Peptide Society Vincent du Vigneaud Award.

Louis Staudt

Louis M. Staudt, M.D., Ph.D.,

received the Health and Human Services Departmental Award for Career Achievement.

Xin Wei Wang

Xin Wei Wang, Ph.D.,

received the 2021 Blue Faery Award.

Brigitte Widemann

Brigitte C. Widemann, M.D.,

was selected as a 2021 Sammies (Samuel J. Heyman Service to America Medals) finalist in the Science and Environment category and was the NIH Director’s 2021 Astute Clinician Lecturer. She received the American Association for Cancer Research-Joseph H. Burchenal Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cancer Research and was elected to the Association of American Physicians. She was also named a Top Ten Clinical Research Achievement Awardee and selected for a Distinguished Clinical Research Achievement Award by the Clinical Research Forum.

Sandra Wolin

Sandra L. Wolin, M.D., Ph.D.,

received the Sandra K. Masur Senior Leadership Award from the American Society for Cell Biology.

Howard Young

Howard A. Young, Ph.D.,

received the 2021 International Cytokine & Interferon Society Mentorship Award.

Group Award

James L. Gulley, M.D., Ph.D., Christian S. Hinrichs, M.D., Scott M. Norberg, D.O., Clint T. Allen, M.D., (NIDCD), Michael Pollack, Ph.D., (NCI Technology Transfer Center) and Helen Sabzevari, Ph.D., (CEO/President Precigen) were selected by the Federal Laboratory Consortium (FLC) Mid-Atlantic Region to receive the 2021 Excellence in Technology Transfer award for “PRGN-2012, FDA Orphan Drug Designation for Recurrent Respiratory Papillomatosis.”