Awards & Honors

Awards and honors earned by CCR staff.

Ravi A. Madan, M.D., Jenn Marte, M.D., James L. Gulley, M.D., Ph.D., Jeffrey Schlom, Ph.D., Amy Hankin, P.A., Andrea Apolo, M.D., Julius Strauss, M.D., and Myrna Rauckhorst, R.N., (retired), were the CCR members of the NIH Avelumab Team who received the HHS Hubert H. Humphrey Award for Service to America.

John A. Beutler, Ph.D., was named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

John Brognard, Ph.D., received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers.

Nataliya P. Buxbaum, M.D., won the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine Magnetic Moments Competition.

William L. Dahut, M.D., received the NIH Alan S. Rabson Award for Clinical Care.

Renee N. Donahue, Ph.D., received a Penn State Alumni Achievement Award.

William Douglas Figg, Sr., Pharm.D., received an honorary Doctor of Science from Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine and was a keynote speaker at their Doctor of Pharmacy and Master of Biomedical Science commencement.

Genoveffa Franchini, M.D., was awarded an honorary Doctor of Science degree by the Medical University of Bialystok, Poland.

Eric O. Freed, Ph.D., was named a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology and received the Distinguished Research Award from the Ohio State University Center for Retrovirus Research.

Romina Goldszmid, Ph.D., received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers.

Jonathan M. Hernandez, M.D., was selected as a Top Doctor by The Washingtonian.

Elaine S. Jaffe, M.D., received the Distinguished Pathologist Award from the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology; was named an NIH Distinguished Investigator; an honorary fellow of the Royal College of Pathology of Australasia; and a trailblazer on The Pathologist’s Power List.

James N. Kochenderfer, M.D., received the Foundation for the National Institutes of Health Trailblazer Prize for Clinician-Scientists.

W. Marston Linehan, M.D., received the Whitmore Lecture Award from the Society of Urologic Oncology; the American Urologic Association Urology Care Foundation Distinguished Mentor Award; and was a finalist for the Partnership for Public Service’s Service to America Medals, also known as the SAMMIES.

Douglas R. Lowy, M.D., received the Association of American Cancer Institutes Distinguished Scientist Award and an honorary Doctor of Science degree from NYU.

Tom Misteli, Ph.D., was elected as a foreign fellow to The Learned Society of the Czech Republic.

Andre Nussenzweig, Ph.D., was elected to the National Academy of Medicine.

Steven A. Rosenberg, M.D., Ph.D., received the Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Government Service from the American Medical Association; the American Association of Immunologists Steinman Award for Human Immunology Research; the Szent-Györgi Prize for Progress in Cancer Research; the Friends of Cancer Research Cancer Leadership Award; and the Edogawa NICHE Prize.

Lawrence E. Samelson, M.D., received the Cancer Research Institute’s William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic and Tumor Immunology.

Louis M. Staudt, M.D., Ph.D., was elected as a fellow of the American Association for Cancer Research Academy.

William G. Telford, Ph.D., received the International Society for the Advancement of Cytometry Distinguished Service Award.

Anish Thomas, M.B.B.S., M.D., received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers.

Thomas A. Waldmann, M.D., received the HHS Career Achievement Award.

Lori Wiener, Ph.D., D.C.S.W., L.C.S.W.-C., was named an NYU Alumni Changemaker.

Martha A. Zeiger, M.D., was elected President of the American Thyroid Association and received their Lewis E. Braverman Distinguished Award.