Awards & Honors

Awards and honors earned by CCR staff.

Andrea Apolo, M.D., Isaac Brownell, M.D., Ph.D., Renee Donahue, Ph.D., James Gulley, M.D., Ph.D., John Greiner, Ph.D., Ravi Madan, M.D., Jeffrey Schlom, Ph.D., Julius Strauss, M.D., received a Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer (FLC) Excellence in Technology Transfer Award for Avelumab, New Therapy for Metastatic Merkel Cell and Urothelial Carcinomas.

Marijo Bilusic, M.D., Ph.D., James Gulley, M.D., Ph.D., Christian Hinrichs, M.D., and Ravi Madan, M.D., were members of the NCI team that received an FLC Mid-Atlantic Region Award for the NCI Immunotherapy Fellowship co-sponsored by the Society for Immunotherapy of Cancer.

Stefan Ambs, Ph.D., received a Department of Defense Prostate Cancer Research Program Impact Award.

Cristina Bergamaschi, Ph.D., received the Milstein Young Investigator Award.

Jay Berzofsky, M.D., Ph.D., gave the European Academy of Tumor Immunology honorary lecture.

C. Norman Coleman, M.D., received the Ellen L. Stovall Award for Innovation in Patient-Centered Cancer Care from the National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship.

Eric Freed, Ph.D., received the KT Jeang Retrovirology Prize.

Michael M. Gottesman, M.D., was elected to the National Academy of Sciences and received the Dr. Nathan Davis Award for Outstanding Government Service from the American Medical Association.

Terry Fry, M.D., and Nirali Shah, M.D., received a Clinical Research Forum Top Ten Clinical Research Achievement Award.

Andrea M. Gross, M.D., received a Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO Young Investigator Award and the ASCO Bradley Stuart Beller Endowed Merit Award.

Jennifer Clare Jones, M.D., Ph.D., received a Young Investigator Award from the Prostate Cancer Foundation and the Pamela Anne Cafritz Renal Cell Carcinoma Award.

James N. Kochenderfer, M.D., and Steven A. Rosenberg, M.D., Ph.D., received an FLC Excellence in Technology Transfer Award for FDA Approval: Personalized Cancer Treatment to Cure Deadly Blood Cancers.

Kenneth H. Kraemer, M.D., received the Environmental Mutagenesis and Genomics Society Award.

Douglas R. Lowy, M.D., received ASCO's Science of Oncology Award and Lecture.

Tom Misteli, Ph.D., gave the Mendel lecture and received the Mendel Medal from Masaryk University in Brno, Czech Republic.

Douglas Lowy, M.D., and John Schiller, Ph.D., received the Maryland Tech Council Lifetime Achievement Award and the Szent-Györgi Prize for Progress in Cancer Research.

Ruth Nussinov, Ph.D., received the International Society of Computational Biology's Accomplishment by a Senior Scientist Award.

Steven Pavletic, M.D., was named a member of the Croatian Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Barry R. O'Keefe, Ph.D., Michael Boyd, M.D., Ph,D. (retired), and James McMahon, Ph.D. (retired), received an FLC Excellence in Technology Transfer Award for Development of Large-Scale Production, Anti-HIV Microbicide in Soya Beans.

Yves Pommier, M.D., Ph.D., was named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Jason Redman, M.D., received an NCI Immunotherapy Fellowship from the Society of Immunotherapy of Cancer.

Steven Rosenberg, M.D., Ph.D., received the Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research and the American College of Surgeons' Jacobson Innovation Award.

Jack Shern, M.D., received the James B. Nachman Endowed ASCO Junior Faculty Award in Pediatric Oncology.

The NIH Pediatric and Wildtype GIST Clinic, received the Jeroen Pit Science Award from The Life Raft Group.

Kandice Tanner, Ph.D., was named a Scialog Fellow of the Research Corporation for Scientific Advancement.

Giorgio Trinchieri, M.D., received the International Cytokine & Interferon Society-BioLegend William E. Paul Award.

Scott Wilkinson, Ph.D., received a Young Investigator Award from the Prostate Cancer Foundation.