Kenneth Aldape

Kenneth Aldape discusses importance of precise diagnosis in brain and spine tumors

Oct 22, 2019

Kenneth Aldape, M.D., Chief of the Laboratory of Pathology, recently discussed the importance of a precise diagnosis in the treatment of brain and spine tumors in an NCI-CONNECTions blog. In the blog, he shares how he’s using the latest technologies and techniques to provide more individualized care for patients.  Read more...

Andre Nussenzweig

Andre Nussenzweig elected to the National Academy of Medicine

Oct 21, 2019

Andre Nussenzweig, Ph.D., Chief of the Laboratory of Genome Integrity, has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine. Dr. Nussenzweig was elected to NAM for making seminal discoveries that speak to how cells maintain their own genome stability, allow chromosome fragility and license leukemogenesis at the hands of aberrant DNA repair. Read more...

Tim Greten

Tim Greten discusses liver cancer with OncLive

Oct 7, 2019

Tim Greten, M.D., Deputy Chief of the Thoracic and GI Malignancies Branch, was recently interviewed by OncLive. In the interview, Dr. Greten discussed the role of the gut microbiome in antitumor immunity in liver cancer.  Read more...

Amy LeBlanc

Amy LeBlanc discusses how dogs are helping cure childhood cancers

Oct 7, 2019

Amy LeBlanc, D.V.M., Director of the Center for Cancer Research’s Comparative Oncology Program, was recently featured in an Everyday Health article that discusses the importance of studying the connection between cancer in dogs and cancer in children. Dr. LeBlanc says, “By studying [dogs] in the context of clinical trials, it can advance new concepts and better treatment for humans and, potentially, for dogs as patients themselves.” Read more...

Steve Rosenberg

Steve Rosenberg receives Friends of Cancer Research Cancer Leadership Award

Oct 2, 2019

Steve Rosenberg, M.D., Ph.D., Chief of the Surgery Branch, recently received the Friends of Cancer Research Cancer Leadership Award. The award recognizes individuals who have been champions for cancer research and steadfast advocates for patients.  Read more...

Lawrence Samelson

Lawrence Samelson receives Cancer Research Institute Coley Award

Sep 30, 2019

Lawrence Samelson, M.D., Chief of the Laboratory of Cellular and Molecular Biology, was named a recipient of the Cancer Research Institute’s 2019 William B. Coley Award for Distinguished Research in Basic and Tumor Immunology. The award recognizes scientists for their seminal discoveries in the fields of basic and tumor immunology.  Read more...

Marston Linehan

Marston Linehan discusses kidney cancer breakthroughs with the Federal News Network podcast

Sep 30, 2019

Marston Linehan, M.D., Chief of the Urologic Oncology Branch, was recently featured on the Federal News Network podcast. During the episode, Dr. Linehan discussed how kidney cancer is not a single disease but rather a number of different cancers that all happen to occur in the kidney. He also discussed how human genetics research has led to advances in kidney cancer, such as discovering that there are multiple genes that cause 17 types of kidney cancer. He says that while there has been much progress, much work is still left to do. Read more...

Doug Lowy and John Schiller

The New York Times highlights the importance of physician-scientists

Sep 27, 2019

The New York Times recently posted an editorial highlighting the importance of physician-scientists in the medical field. The article cited several examples of discoveries made by physician-scientists that have changed the history of medicine, including the development of the HPV vaccine by Doug Lowy, M.D., Chief of the Laboratory of Cellular Oncology (LCO), and John Schiller, Ph.D., Deputy Chief of LCO. Read more...

Karlyne Reilly

Karlyne Reilly discusses childhood cancer on BioMedCentral

Sep 16, 2019

Karlyne M. Reilly, Ph.D., Senior Associate Scientist in the Pediatric Oncology Branch, recently wrote a blog for BioMedCentral. In the blog, Dr. Reilly addresses both the difficulties and the importance of accessing and collecting data from childhood cancer clinical trials and initiatives, such as MyPART, to help improve childhood cancer research in the future.  Read more...

NIH IRP Speaking of Science

Michael Gottesman and Ira Pastan featured in NIH Intramural Research Program podcast

Sep 12, 2019

Michael Gottesman, M.D., Chief of the Laboratory of Cell Biology, and Ira Pastan, M.D., Co-Chief of the Laboratory of Molecular Biology, were recently featured in the NIH IRP podcast Speaking of Science. In the podcast, Dr. Gottesman and Dr. Pastan discussed how their research and discoveries have helped effectively treat cancer in order to improve and save potentially millions of lives.  Read more...