Mark Roschewski awarded USPHS Research Physician of the Year

Jun 8, 2017

Mark Roschewski, M.D., Staff Clinician in CCR’s Lymphoid Malignancies Branch, received the Research Physician of the Year award from the Physicians Professional Advisory Committee to the Surgeon General of the U.S. Public Health Service. According to the website, this award “recognizes individual initiative, accomplishment, and accountability for actions that increase the overall effectiveness of the HHS through research.” Bill Dahut, M.D., CCR Scientific Director for Clinical Research, says, “He has the unusual ability to combine the unique sensitivity of clinical research and patient care, which has impacted patients with life-devastating lymphomas.”

Mark Roschewski awarded USPHS Research Physician of the Year

Dr. LeBlanc featured in Colorado State and PBS documentary

Jun 5, 2017

Amy LeBlanc, D.V.M., Director of the CCR Comparative Oncology Program, was featured in a joint PBS and Colorado State University documentary on comparative oncology. The documentary, “The Answer to Cancer Might be Walking Beside Us” highlights how researching cancer in dogs can lead to better cures and treatments for humans because dogs get cancer the same way people do.

Dr. Yarchoan elected to the Fellowship of the American Academy of Microbiology

Jun 5, 2017

Robert Yarchoan, M.D., Chief of the HIV and AIDS Malignancy Branch, has been elected to the 2017 fellows class of the American Academy of Microbiology. According to the website, “the Academy is the honorific leadership group within the American Society for Microbiology (ASM), the world's oldest and largest life science organization. The mission of the Academy is to recognize scientists for outstanding contributions to microbiology and provide microbiological expertise in the service of science and the public.”

In Memoriam: Peter Riesz, Ph.D., 1926 – 2017

May 30, 2017

Peter Riesz, Ph.D., Senior Investigator in the Radiation Biology Branch, passed away on Saturday, May 20, 2017.  Read more...

In Memoriam: Peter Riesz, Ph.D., 1926 – 2017

Zbigniew Dauter receives Patterson Award from American Crystallographic Association

May 26, 2017

Zbigniew Dauter, Ph.D., Senior Investigator in the Macromolecular Crystallography Laboratory, is the 2017 recipient of the Patterson Award from the American Crystallographic Association. The award is given “to recognize and encourage outstanding research in the structure of matter by diffraction methods, including significant contributions to the methodology of structure determination and/or innovative application of diffraction methods and/or elucidation of biological, chemical, geological or physical phenomena using new structural information.”

Richard Hodes receives Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Association of Immunologists

May 12, 2017

Richard Hodes, M.D., Senior Investigator in the Experimental Immunology Branch and Director of the National Institute on Aging, was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Association of Immunologists (AAI) on Friday, May 12, 2017. According to the AAI website, “the AAI Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by the AAI Council upon an AAI member. This award recognizes a deserving member for a career of scientific achievement and for contributions to AAI and fellow immunologists.”

Susan Gottesman receives Herbert Tabor Research Award

Apr 21, 2017

Susan Gottesman, Ph.D., Co-Chief of the Laboratory of Molecular Biology, received the 2017 Herbert Tabor Research Award from the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) at the annual meeting on April 22, 2017. The award is given for excellence in biological chemistry, molecular biology and contributions to the science community.


Hiroaki Mitsuya elected to Association of American Physicians

Apr 21, 2017

Hiroaki Mitsuya, M.D., Ph.D., Senior Investigator in the HIV and AIDS Malignancy Branch, was elected to the 2017 Association of American Physicians. Members are selected because of their pursuit and advancement of basic and clinical science and how those advances translate to clinical medicine.


Steve Hughes awarded 2017 Distinguished Research Career Award from The Ohio State University Center for Retrovirus Research

Apr 12, 2017

Steve Hughes, Ph.D., Chief of the Retroviral Replication Laboratory, received the 2017 Distinguished Research Career from The Ohio State University Center for Retrovirus Research on March 30, 2017. He was selected to receive this award in recognition of his substantial work on retroviruses.  Learn more...

Pavlakis and Schiller inducted to National Academy of Inventors

Apr 6, 2017

George Pavlakis, M.D., Ph.D., Senior Investigator in the Vaccine Branch, and John Schiller, Ph.D., Deputy Chief of the Laboratory of Cellular Oncology, are two of 175 inventors named to the 2016 class of fellows in the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). According to the NAI website, “Election to NAI Fellow status is the highest professional distinction accorded solely to academic inventors who have demonstrated a prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society.”  Learn more...