Our Team Members

The NIH Foregut team

The Foregut Team includes experts in the diagnosis and treatment of the diseases listed below. Our clinical experience and active research offers patients the highest quality care in the setting of groundbreaking clinical trials.

Pancreas, Liver & Bile ducts

  • Pancreatic cancer
  • Intraductal papillary mucinous neoplasms (IPMN)
  • Ampullary cancer
  • Duodenal cancer
  • Liver cancer (Hepatocellular carcinoma, HCC)
  • Metastatic cancer to the liver (i.e. metastatic colorectal cancer)
  • Bile duct cancer (Cholangiocarcinoma)
  • Gallbladder cancer

Esophagus & Gastric

  • Barrett’s esophagus
  • Esophageal cancer
  • Gastroesophageal junction cancer
  • Gastric cancer
  • Gastrointestinal stromal tumor (GIST)
  • Hereditary gastric cancer


Sandy Orfgen, M.D.
Ning Miao, M.D.
Kevin Driscoll, CRNA

Clinical Pharmacy

Dan Zlott, PharmD

Critical Care Medicine

Anthony Suffredini, M.D.
Nancy Munro, R.N., ACNP-BC 


Theo Heller, M.D.
Chris Koh, M.D., M.H.Sc.

Interventional Radiology

Elliot Levy, M.D.
Brad Wood, M.D.

Medical Oncology

Christine Alewine, M.D., Ph.D.
Julius Strauss, M.D.

Diagnostic Radiology

Elizabeth Jones, M.D.

Surgical Oncology

Jeremy Davis, M.D.
Jonathan Hernandez, M.D.

Thoracic Surgery

David Schrump, M.D.

Nuclear Medicine

Mark Ahlman, M.D.


Rachael Lopez, M.P.H., R.D.

Pain & Palliative Care

Ann Berger, M.D.


David Kleiner, M.D., Ph.D.
Martha Quezado, M.D.

Radiation Oncology

Freddy E. Escorcia, M.D., Ph.D.

Research Nursing

Rebecca Trupp, R.N.
Cathleen Hannah, R.N.
Audra Satterwhite, R.N.

Stacy Joyce, PA-C

Operating Room Nursing

Maureen George, R.N.