Matthew T. Wolf, Ph.D.

Matthew T. Wolf, Ph.D.

  • Center for Cancer Research
  • National Cancer Institute
Cancer Innovation Laboratory


The Wolf lab investigates immunomodulatory biomaterials for cancer immunotherapy, cancer vaccines, and patient-specific tumor models in-a-dish. Dr. Wolf is a biomedical engineer at the forefront of integrating biomaterials science, cancer immunology, and tissue engineering in cancer treatment.

Areas of Expertise

Extracellular Matrix
3D Culture
Tissue Engineering
Host Response To Biomaterials


Selected Key Publications

A biologic scaffold-associated type 2 immune microenvironment inhibits tumor formation and synergizes with checkpoint immunotherapy

Wolf MT, Ganguly S, Wang TL, Anderson CW, Sadtler K, Narain R, Cherry C, Parrillo AJ, Park BV, Wang G, Pan F, Sukumar S, Pardoll DM, Elisseeff JH.
Sci Transl Med. 11(477): eaat7973, 2019. [ Journal Article ]

Tissue matrix arrays for high-throughput screening and systems analysis of cell function

Beachley VZ, Wolf MT, Sadtler K, Manda SS, Jacobs H, Blatchley MR, Bader JS, Pandey A, Pardoll D, Elisseeff JH.
Nat Methods. 12(12): 1197-204, 2015. [ Journal Article ]

Macrophage polarization in response to ECM coated polypropylene mesh.

Wolf MT, Dearth CL, Ranallo CA, LoPresti ST, Carey LE, Daly KA, Brown BN, Badylak SF.
Biomaterials. 35(25): 6838-49, 2014. [ Journal Article ]

Two-Year Follow-Up and Remodeling Kinetics of ChonDux Hydrogel for Full-Thickness Cartilage Defect Repair in the Knee

Wolf MT, Zhang H, Sharma B, Marcus NA, Pietzner U, Fickert S, Lueth A, Albers GHR, Elisseeff JH.
Epub ahead of print, 2018. [ Journal Article ]

Biologic scaffold composed of skeletal muscle extracellular matrix

Wolf MT, Daly KA, Reing JE, Badylak SF.
Biomaterials. 3(10): 2916-25, 2012. [ Journal Article ]

Job Vacancies

There are no open positions at this time. Check back again later, or take a look at CCR's Careers page.


Postdoctoral Fellow (CRTA)
Elizabeth Brooks, Ph.D.
Predoctoral Fellow
Devorah Cahn, B.S.
CRTA Fellow
Iris Baurceanu, B.S.
CRTA Fellow
Ireolu Orenuga , B.S.


Learn more about CCR research advances, new discoveries and more on our news section.