Skip CCR Main Navigation National Cancer Institute National Cancer Institute U.S. National Institutes of Health
CCR - For Our Staff| Home |

Our Science – LP Website



J. Carl Oberholtzer, M.D., Ph.D.

Deputy Laboratory Chief

Frederic G. Barr, M.D., Ph.D.

Office of the Chief Staff

Mones S. Abu-Asab, Ph.D., Research Biologist
Lillian Boyer, Summer Student
Ambar Caban, Summer Student
Anna Felisiak-golabek, Postdoctoral Fellow (CRTA)
Sherdena Flipping, Program Assistant
Alessio Giubellino, M.D., Clinical Fellow
Mary E. Grissette, Program Assistant
Susan M. Hostler, Editorial Assistant
Pamela Leach, Program Administrator
Guang Li, Research Fellow
Chunyan Liu, Research Fellow
Lola Saidkhodjaeva, Program Assistant
Anthony Schwartz, Postdoctoral Fellow (CRTA)
Rebecca Stussman, Summer Student


J. Carl Oberholtzer, M.D., Ph.D., Laboratory Chief
Head, Anatomic Pathology Residency Training Program

Research Team:
• Meghna Alimchandani, M.D., Clinical Fellow
• Leo Ballester-Fuentes, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Fellow
• Gregory Brown, M.D., Clinical Fellow
• Xixi Chen, Summer Student
• Jennifer Dreiling, M.D., Clinical Fellow
• Arunima Ghosh, M.D., Clinical Fellow
• Sidharth Kerkar, M.D., Clinical Fellow
• Avi Rosenberg, M.D., Clinical Fellow
• Hao-Wei Wang, M.D., Clinical Fellow
• Zhiming Yang, M.D., Clinical Fellow
Frederic G. Barr, M.D., Ph.D., Deputy Laboratory Chief
Head, Cancer Molecular Pathology Section

Research Team:
• Bishwanath Chatterjee, Ph.D., Research Geneticist
• Mary Olanich, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow (CRTA)
• Puspa Raj Pandey, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow (CRTA)
Wenyue Sun, Ph.D., Staff Scientist
• Ming Zhao, Summer Student
Eric Batchelor, Ph.D., Investigator
Head, Systems Biology Section

Research Team:
• Brian E. Fisher, Research Biologist
• Amie Moody, Postdoctoral Fellow (CRTA)
• Joshua R. Porter, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow (CRTA)
• Amy Sun, Summer Student
Michael R. Emmert-Buck, M.D., Ph.D., Senior Investigator
Head, Pathogenetics Unit

Research Team:
• Adele Blackler, Postdoctoral Fellow (CRTA)
• Yun Chen, Ph.D., Research Fellow
• Qiang Du, Postdoctoral Fellow (Visiting)
• Minyoung Ryoo, Summer Student
Michael A. Tangrea, Ph.D., Staff Scientist
• Wusheng Yan, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow (CRTA)
Elaine S. Jaffe, M.D., Senior Investigator
Head, Hematopathology Section

Research Team:
• Shahed Abdullah, B.S., Postbaccalaureate Fellow
• Tapan Mahendra Bhavsar, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Fellow
• Theresa M. Davies-Hill, Medical Technologist
• Nancy E. Diener, Patient Care Coordinator
• Shunyou Gong, M.D., Clinical Fellow
• Stephanie Nara, Clinical Support Assistant (Contr)
• Alina Nicolae, M.D., Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow (Visiting)
Stefania Pittaluga, M.D., Ph.D., Staff Clinician
• Wenbin Xiao, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Fellow
• Yi Xie, M.D., Clinical Fellow
David L. Levens, M.D., Ph.D., Senior Investigator
Head, Gene Regulation Section

Research Team:
• Laura Baranello, Ph.D., Research Biologist
Fedor Kouzine, Ph.D., Staff Scientist
• Zuqin Nie, Ph.D., Research Biologist
• Suzanne Sanford, Medical Technologist
• Lipeng Wu, Postdoctoral Fellow (CRTA)
• Ying Zheng, Postdoctoral Fellow (Visiting)
• Weixin Zhou, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow (Visiting)
Maria J. Merino, M.D., Senior Investigator
Head, Translational Surgical Pathology Section

Research Team:
• Ang Li, M.D., Research Fellow
David D. Roberts, Ph.D., Senior Investigator
Head, Biochemical Pathology Section

Research Team:
• Alexandra Hill, Summer Student
• Sukbhir Kaur, Research Fellow
• Gema Martin-Manso, Research Fellow
Michael Leon Pendrak, Ph.D., Staff Scientist
• John Sipes, Research Chemist
• David Soto-Pantoja, Postdoctoral Fellow (CRTA)
• Erica Stein, B.S., Predoctoral Fellow

Senior Clinician

Armando Filie, M.D., Senior Clinician
Head, Cytopathology

Research Team:
• Keith Brosky, Cytotechnologist
• Tangi Butler, Patient Care Coordinator
• Dana Erickson, Cytotechnologist
• Patricia Fetsch, Medical Technologist
• Yi-Shan Lee, M.D., Clinical Fellow
• May Owens, Cytotechnologist
Mark J. Roth, M.D., Staff Clinician
• Maham Siddiqui, Summer Student
Markku Martti Miettinen, M.D., Senior Clinician
Head, General Surgical Pathology Section

Research Team:
• Kathleen Benard, Program Assistant
• Tiffany Coates, Summer Student
Jerzy P. Lasota, Ph.D., Staff Scientist
Chyi-Chia Richard Lee, M.D., Ph.D., Staff Clinician
Martha M. Quezado, M.D., Staff Clinician
• Zengfeng Wang, Ph.D., Senior Research Fellow

Staff Clinicians

Diane C. Arthur, M.D.
Head, Clinical Cytogenetics Section

Research Team:
• Veronica Krevinko, MT(ASCP), Cytogenetic Technologist
• Shannon Skarshaug, MS, ASCP(CG), Cytogenetic Technologist
• Valerie Zgonc, ASCP(CG), MS, Cytogenetic Technologist
Stephen M. Hewitt, M.D., Ph.D.

Research Team:
• Chel Hun Choi, M.D., Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow (Visiting)
• Joon-Yong Chung, Ph.D., Research Biologist
• Andrea Osborne, Summer Student
• Kris Ylaya, Histopathology Technician
David E. Kleiner, M.D., Ph.D.
Head, Histopathology and Autopsy Pathology

Research Team:
• Jordan Denny, Summer Student
• Parker Gilkesson, Summer Student
• Helen Lynch, Histopathology Technician
• Jeannette M. McNulty, Pathologist Assistant (Contr)
• Sereen Morgan-Murray, Histopathology Technician
• Catherine Neely-Hurst, Histopathology Technician
• Michael Newford, Histopathology Technician
• Claire D. Roque, Histopathology Technician
• Maryann Williamson, Histopathology Technician
• Sarah Young, Pathologist Assistant (Contr)
• Willie J. Young, Autopsy Assistant
Chyi-Chia Richard Lee, M.D., Ph.D.
General Surgical Pathology Section
Stefania Pittaluga, M.D., Ph.D.
Hematopathology Section
Martha M. Quezado, M.D.
General Surgical Pathology Section
Mark Raffeld, M.D.
Head, Molecular Diagnostics and Immunohistochemistry

Research Team:
• Cynthia Harris, Medical Technologist
• Hong Jin, Medical Technologist
• Hillary Meeker, Summer Student
• Winnifred Navarro, Medical Technologist
• Thu Anh Pham, (ASCP), Medical Technologist
• Trinh Hoc-Tran Pham, (ASCP), Medical Technologist
• Charisma D. Roque, Medical Technologist
Liqiang Xi, M.D., Staff Scientist
Mark J. Roth, M.D.
Maryalice Stetler-Stevenson, M.D., Ph.D.
Head, Flow Cytometry Unit

Research Team:
• Gregory A. Jasper, Medical Technologist
• Catharine S. McCoy, Medical Technologist
• Clarissa Rous, Summer Student
• Linda S. Weaver, Medical Technologist
Constance M. Yuan, M.D., Ph.D., Staff Clinician
Constance M. Yuan, M.D., Ph.D.
Flow Cytometry Unit

Staff Scientists

Fedor Kouzine, Ph.D.
Gene Regulation Section
Jerzy P. Lasota, Ph.D.
General Surgical Pathology Section
Svetlana D. Pack, Ph.D.
Head, Chromosome Pathology Unit

Research Team:
• Zied Abdullaev, Ph.D., Research Biologist
Michael Leon Pendrak, Ph.D.
Biochemical Pathology Section
Wenyue Sun, Ph.D.
Cancer Molecular Pathology Section
Michael A. Tangrea, Ph.D.
Pathogenetics Unit
Liqiang Xi, M.D.
Molecular Diagnostics and Immunohistochemistry

Other Groups and Programs

Applied Molecular Pathology Laboratory
Stephen M. Hewitt, M.D., Ph.D., Head
Joon-Yong Chung, Ph.D., Research Biologist
Basic Research Operations
David L. Levens, M.D., Ph.D., Head
Clinical Operations
David E. Kleiner, M.D., Ph.D., Head
Earle Barnes, Information Technology Specialist
Joseph W. Chinquee, DHSc, MBA, Program Administrator
Silke Williams, Research Assistant
Experimental Pathology
David L. Levens, M.D., Ph.D., Head
Russell W. Bandle, Research Biologist
Hye-Jung Chung, Ph.D., Laboratory Technician (Contr)
Laser Capture Microdissection Facility
Michael R. Emmert-Buck, M.D., Ph.D., Head
Jeffrey C. Hanson, Research Biologist
Tissue Array Research Program
Stephen M. Hewitt, M.D., Ph.D., Head
Yun Chen, Ph.D., Research Fellow
Kris Ylaya, Histopathology Technician
Tissue Procurement and Processing Facility
Joseph W. Chinquee, DHSc, MBA, Head
Neil Hardegen, Technical Laboratory Manager